Sunday, May 10, 2009

Bratislava Public Transportation in Three Countries

From September on, Bratislava system of public transportation will span three countries. Apart from Slovakia, local buses operate a line to Austrian town of Hainburg an der Donau and a border village Wolfsthal. Later this year, the EU funds will pay for most of the costs of another line to Hunagrian village of Rajka, where many Slovaks moved during the last year or two. This development owes to the Schengen system of free movement across most of EU borders. Apart from Bratislava, only Swiss Basel public transportation is known to the author to service two other countries (France and Germany) apart from its homeland.

No comments: